

RESOLUTION № 110-051

SIGNATURE AUTHORITY ON COUNTY CHECKS

WHEREAS, the Sierra County Commission met in a duly-notice, regular county commission meeting on January 11, 2022 at 10:00 A.M. in the Sierra County Administration Building, 1712 N. Date Street, Sierra County, NM 87901; and,

WHEREAS, NMSA 1978, Section 4-45-4 (2001) provides that "[c]ounty orders shall be signed by the chairman of the board of county commissioners or his designee and attested by the county clerk and shall specify the nature of the claim of service for which they were issued, and the money shall be paid from the county treasury on such orders and not otherwise. Money may be paid from the county treasury by check or warrant. If money is paid by check, the check must be signed by the chairman of the board of county commissioners or his designee and the county treasurer;" and,

WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners recognizes the duly elected treasurer of Sierra County, Candace Chavez, as a required signature on checks by operation of law; and,

WHEREAS, the Chairperson of the Sierra County Commission delegates to all Commissioners authority for signature of Sierra County checks, under Section 4-45-4, NMSA 1978, whose signatures appear below, and as shown hereon; and,

WHEREAS, this delegation and the authorization of signatures on checks shall continue until replaced by future designations. This designation of signatures may be affixed to the form contract of deposit signature card of any financial institution issuing Sierra County checks, and shall incorporate the terms thereof, and all laws of the State of New Mexico and regulations of the Local Government Division of the Department of Finance and Administration, as if fully set out herein, and when so affixed, shall constitute full and sufficient authorization of the banking institution to honor signatures upon such checks.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Sierra County Commissioners hereby establish the signature authority on checks as set forth herein on this 11th day of January 2022.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Travis Day, Commissioner

Hank Hopkins, Commissioner

6 6

James Paxon, Commissioner

Attest:

44

000

Shelly K. Trujillo Sierra County Clerk