SIERRA COUNTY GOVERNMENT

Sheriff's Office

2501 S. Broadway
Truth or Consequences, NM 87901
Hours: Monday-Friday  8am-5pm

David Elston
Undersheriff
575-894-9150
delston@sierraco.org

Barbara Hill
Executive Secretary
575-894-9150
bhill@sierraco.org

Brad Spencer
Information Specialist
575-894-9150
bspencer@sierraco.org

Joshua Baker
Lieutenant
575-894-9150
jbaker@sierraco.org

Joel Trejo
Sergeant
575-894-9150
jtrejo@sierraco.org

Clay Cheney
Sergeant
575-894-9150
ccheney@sierraco.org

Greg McWhorter
Deputy - Investigator
575-894-9150
gmcwhorter@sierraco.org

Dina Juarez
Deputy - Civil Process
575-894-9150
djuarez@sierraco.org

Shane Jeffers
Cadet
575-894-9150
sjeffers@sierraco.org

Justin Myers
Deputy
575-894-9150
jmyers@sierraco.org

Zachary Zavala
Deputy
575-894-9150
zzavala@sierraco.org

Brandon Torres
Deputy
575-894-9150
btorres@sierraco.org

Vincent Apodaca
Deputy
575-894-9150
vapodaca@sierraco.org

Robert Montoya
Deputy
575-894-9150
rmontoya@sierraco.org

Jose Marin
Deputy
575-894-9150
jmarin@sierrco.org

Sheriff's Office

Glenn Hamilton
Sheriff
575-894-9150
ghamilton@sierraco.org

Sheriff Hamilton was elected County Sheriff in 2014 and took office in 2015.

MISSION STATEMENT

The Sierra County Sheriff's Office is committed to protecting the lives, property and Constitutional rights of all people, to maintaining order and to the fair and impartial enforcement of the law.  The Sierra County Sheriff's Office will work to accomplish this mission by setting goals and objectives and practicing the set values of this department.

The Sierra County Sheriff's Office is responsible for the professional care of those in our custody, the security of our courts and the prompt investigation of crime when it occurs.  It is our mission to improve and maintain the quality of life we enjoy and to ensure that our county is a safe place to live, work and visit.

We are fully dedicated to this mission, to the citizens we serve and to accept the responsibility of attaining and achieving excellence within our chosen profession.

Sex Offender Registration

A sex offender, who is a resident of New Mexico, shall initially register with the county sheriff, for the county in which they reside, no later than ten (10) days (five (5) business days if convicted on or after July 1, 2013) after being released from the custody of the corrections department, a municipal or county jail or a federal, military or tribal facility or detention center or being placed on probation or parole.

A sex offender who changes residence to New Mexico, shall register with the county sheriff, for the county in which they reside, no later than ten (10) days (five (5) business days if convicted on or after July 1, 2013) after their arrival in this state.
29-11A-4 NMSA 1978 et seq.

Registrations Will ONLY Be Done
Tuesdays, Wednesdays & Thursdays
From 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM and 2:00 PM to 4:00 PM

There are NO EXCEPTIONS

Notice of Right to Inspect Public Records
Complaint Form

 

 

 

 

Current Employment Opportunities

Sierra County is an equal opportunity employer.

 

Department Documents and Forms

 

RFPs

bottom image