English EN Spanish ES

Black Fire Updates

The State of New Mexico EMNRD has implemented statewide burn restrictions. Sierra County will not be issuing burn permits until the restrictions have been lifted. The restriction order is provided in this 3-page PDF.

Sierra County Commission

The County of Sierra is divided into three Districts. Each District is represented by one Commissioner. Commissioners are elected "at large."

Meetings are scheduled every third Tuesday of the month. Dates are subject to change and are noted on the calendar. The County Commissioners invite the public to attend.

sierra county commissioner jim paxon
Mr. Paxon was elected County Commissioner for District 1 in 2018.

Jornada RC&D, Regional Transit District, Sierra County Higher Education Committee, Sierra Vista Hospital Joint Powers Commission, Spaceport Community Advisory Committee

sierra county commissioner travis day
Mr. Day was elected County Commissioner for District 2 in 2018 and took office in 2019.

Jaguar & Wolf Reintroduction Oversight Committee, JLUS, Jornada RC&D, National Forest Counties and Schools Coalition, NM County Insurance Authority Multi-Line Pool, NM/AZ Coalition, Regional Planning Organization, Sierra Vista Hospital Joint Powers Commission, South Western County Commission Alliance, Workers Investment Act Committee

commissioner hank hopkins
Mr. Hopkins was elected County Commissioner for District 3 in 2020 and took office in 2021.

Next Commission Meeting:

Meetings are held in the County Commission Chambers, 1712 N. Date Street, unless noted otherwise. Check our Announcements page for revisions to meeting times and locations.

County Commission Agendas